What is the political make up of the council?

Watford Borough Council has 36 councillors and an Elected Mayor, each of whom is usually elected for a four year term to represent the people of Watford.

There are three councillors for each of the 12 wards within Watford.

The Mayor is elected by all residents within the Borough.

The current distribution of seats is as follows:

Political party Number of councillors
Liberal Democrats 24 (including the Elected Mayor)


Independent 2
Vacancy 1

The Council has a Liberal Democrat administration.

rating button