Elections in Watford

Types of elections

The outcome of recent elections can be found on our Elections results pages.

Borough council elections

Watford borough is represented by 36 ward councillors, with 3 councillors representing each ward.

The election of borough councillors is normally held on the first Thursday in May each year with exception of years when scheduled county councillor elections are held.  

County council elections

The election of Hertfordshire County Council councillors is held every fourth year on the first Thursday in May. Watford borough is represented by 6 county councillors.

The next county council elections will be held on 1 May 2025.

Police and crime commissioner elections

Police and crime commissioners are elected every 4 years. 

The next police and crime commissioner elections will be held on 2 May 2024.

Mayoral elections

Watford's mayor is elected every 4 years.

The last mayoral election was held 5 May 2022.

Feedback button