Watford residents elect new councillors

Residents of Watford have voted for councillors to represent them in each of the 12 wards of Watford Borough Council.

Published: Thursday, 3rd May 2018

The result was announced by our Returning Officer, Watford Borough Council’s Managing Director, Manny Lewis, at the count in Watford Leisure Centre Central today (Friday 4 May).

Each ward – or area of town – is represented by three councillors. Residents in Watford voted for one councillor for each of the wards in polling stations across the town yesterday (Thursday 3 May).

The councillors elected this year are as follows:

  • Callowland – Cllr Ian Alexander Eric Stoesbury (Liberal Democrat)
  • Central – Cllr Aga Dychton (Liberal Democrat)
  • Holywell – Cllr Matt Turmaine (Labour Party)
  • Leggatts – Cllr Bilqees Mauthoor (Labour Party)
  • Meriden – Cllr Antony James Barton (Liberal Democrat)
  • Nascot – Cllr Jane Alexandra Johnson (Liberal Democrat)
  • Oxhey – Cllr Maggie Parker (Liberal Democrat)
  • Park – Cllr Peter John Christopher Kloss (Liberal Democrat)
  • Stanborough – Cllr Keith Murray Crout (Liberal Democrat)
  • Tudor – Cllr Stephen Edward Johnson (Liberal Democrat)
  • Vicarage – Cllr Nasreen Shah (Labour Party)
  • Woodside – Cllr Glen Bryce Saffery (Liberal Democrat)

Watford is taking part in a voter ID pilot, so voters were required to bring a form of ID with them yesterday (Thursday 3 May). Postal votes were submitted as normal, unaffected by the pilot.

The results of the voter ID pilot will be made available in due course. For a full break-down of the Mayoral election results, visit watford.gov.uk/electionresults

The voter turn-out for the borough council elections was 39.28%.

Watford Borough Council news RSS feed

rating button