How to register to vote

Under the new system, Electoral registration should now be done online at

In addition to making your application either online (or by post), you can provide a copy of any of the items below. Doing so will enable us to process your registration without delay, even if your details are not matched against government records:

  • Your passport
  • UK photo driving licence
  • EEA Identity card
  • UK-issued biometric resident permit or;
  • Northern Ireland electoral ID card

If applying online, you can additionally send scanned images to

This is not essential but will assist electoral services and probably prevent the need for a request for further documentation (necessary for up to 25% of applications made) and ensure that your registration is complete and ready for addition at the next statutory deadline.

Individuals who are unable to complete an online application are still able to complete a paper form, if you prefer, which Watford Borough Council electoral registration office will send on your request.

If you have any queries about the changes you can either access more information from the Electoral Commission's About My Vote website or you can email the local electoral registration service:

If you successfully register before Your details will be changed on
Monday 12 December 2016 Tuesday 3 January 2017
Tuesday 10 January 2017 Wednesday 1 February 2017
Tuesday 7 February 2017 Wednesday 1 March 2017
Friday 10 March 2017 Monday 3 April 2017
Thursday 13 April 2017 Wednesday 26 April 2017
Ready for the elections on 4 May 2017
Monday 22nd May

Thursday 1st June 2017
Ready for the UK Parliamentary Election on 8th June

Friday 9 June 2017 Monday 3 July 2017
Monday 10 July 2017 Tuesday 1 August 2017
Thursday 10 August 2017 Friday 1 September 2017
There are no monthly updates to the Register during either October or November 2017
 Tuesday 23 November 2017 Friday 1 December 2017
rating button