Christmas recycling

Christmas waste collection information

Collection days change over the Christmas holidays, please see the information below, refer to your calendar or check your bin day. Collections return to normal from Monday 13 January 2020.

If your bin would normally be collected on: Your bin will be collected on:             
Monday 23 December Monday 23 December
Tuesday 24 December Tuesday 24 December
Wednesday 25 December Friday 27 December
Thursday 26 December Saturday 28 December
Friday 27 December Monday 30 December
Monday 30 December Tuesday 31 December
Tuesday 31 December Thursday 2 January 2020
Wednesday 1 January 2020 Friday 3 January 2020
Thursday 2 January 2020 Saturday 4 January 2020
Friday 3 January 2020 Monday 6 January 2020
Monday 6 January 2020 Tuesday 7 January 2020
Tuesday 7 January 2020 Wednesday 8 January 2020
Wednesday 8 January 2020 Thursday 9 January 2020
Thursday 9 January 2020 Friday 10 January 2020
Friday 10 January 2020 Saturday 11 January 2020

Recycle your real Christmas tree

If you’ve got a real Christmas tree, please recycle it. Just follow our handy tips:

1. Leave it in your green-lidded bin, if it’s over six feet tall, please cut it in half

2. If your green-lidded bin is full, please put your tree next to it for us to collect

3. Remember to remove it from its pot or stand, and remove all tinsel and decorations before recycling it

Extra rubbish

For your first two collections after Christmas you can put out up to two extra bags of non-recyclable waste for collection. Please tie and leave next to your black bin.

If you have extra recycling, you can put out as much recycling as you like, please use either a clearly labelled or clear plastic bag and leave next to your blue-lidded bin and ensure these contain only items that can be recycled.

Missed bins

If your bin is missed please report it within 24 hours of your scheduled collection day.

Collections during bad weather

Severe weather conditions can sometimes effect bin collections, check our frozen bins and weather conditions pages for more information. 

 

rating button