The Mayor and her Cabinet

The Mayor can appoint between 2 and 9 councillors to the Cabinet, also known as the Executive.  The Mayor informs Council of the composition of the Cabinet at the Annual Council meeting usually held in May.  The members of Cabinet are known as Portfolio Holders and each one has their own area of responsibility.

The Portfolio Holders for 2017/2018 are - 

The Mayor, Dorothy Thornhill

Councillor Peter Taylor, Deputy Mayor and Portfolio Holder for Client Services

Councillor Karen Collett, Portfolio Holder for Community

Councillor Stephen Johnson, Portfolio Holder for Property and Housing

Councillor Iain Sharpe, Portfolio Holder for Regeneration and Development

Councillor Mark Watkin, Portfolio Holder for Resources and Customer Service

rating button