Audentior Awards

Audentior coin for winners

What are the audentior awards?

The Audentior Awards are held annually by the Mayor and the Chairman of Watford Borough Council and is an opportunity for the council to recognise and celebrate outstanding dedication shown by organisations and individuals in the town.

Individuals who have gone that extra mile to help friends, family or people around them, an everyday hero who does amazing things.

The one attribute that all nominees share is the quality of being extraordinary in their commitment, dedication, energy and effort in their particular field.


The categories for the awards might change slightly from year to year.

The 2017 categories are:

  • The Mayor’s Award

We are looking for someone who has dedicated their life to their work (paid or voluntary). This will be a high profile person in the community, helping make changes for the good of others in the town.

  • The Chairman’s Award for Volunteer of the Year

This recognises a volunteer who generously gives up their time and talents for the benefit of the community.

  • Charitable Group Award

This celebrates groups working for the good of the community, providing activities or services for others, with an established track record of great work.

  • Charitable Business Award

Recognising a local business which actively supports the local community by encouraging staff to volunteer through an incentive scheme or giving staff time off to volunteer or through financial giving to a local group or charity.

  • The Lewington Price Disability Award

This recognises the efforts and achievements of individuals or groups who live with disability, and shops, businesses and service providers offering excellent disabled access.

  • The Mayor’s Sporting Achievement Awards (individual and group)

These are all about outstanding sporting achievement in Watford – particularly by young people.

  • Special Achievement Award

This award may be given for making an exceptional contribution to the wellbeing of the town.

All nominations are considered by a specially selected panel, including the Mayor and Chairman.

rating button