Council and democracy

Dorothy Thornhill (Liberal Democrat) is the Elected Mayor of Watford. She was first elected in May 2002 and was re-elected in 2006, 2010 and May 2014. There are just 16 directly elected mayors across England. Watford is divided into 12 wards. Each ward has three councillors who are elected for a four-year term. The current political make-up of the council is: Liberal Democrat 19 seats (including the Elected Mayor), Labour 13 seats and Conservative 5 seat.

council chamber

This area of our website includes information about the democratic process - our structure, who the elected representatives are, agendas and minutes of Watford Borough Council meetings.

For more information